THE DOCTOR & THE DIVA by Adrienne McDonnell

THE DOCTOR & THE DIVA by Adrienne McDonnell

    Price: $15.00

    Code: MA_DIVA

    Weight: 0.63 pounds



    THE DOCTOR & THE DIVA by Adrienne McDonnell
    Selection for Wednesday August 13,2014 & Thursday August 21,2014

    October 25, 2011 trade size paperback

    It is 1903, and Erika von Kessler has struggled for years to become pregnant. Resigned to childlessness, Erikaa talented opera singer and the wife of a prominent Boston businessmansecretly plans to move to Italy to pursue her musical career. The charismatic Doctor Ravell is a rising fertility specialist. When Erika becomes his patient, he is mesmerized by her elegance and extraordinary voiceand finds himself taking an impetuous risk that could ruin them both.
    Stunningly realized and inspired by Adrienne McDonnells own family history, The Doctor and the Diva moves from snowy Boston to the tropical forests of the Caribbean to the gilded balconies of Florence. It is searing historical fictiona tale of opera, the indomitable power of romantic obsession, and a womans irreconcilable desires as she is forced to choose between the child she has always yearned for and the artistic career she cannot live without. Fans of Ann Patchetts Bel Canto and Nancy Horans Loving Frank will be moved by this novels bittersweet beauty.

    432 pages ISBN: 9780143119302

    close